Today I took part in a Screen Printing Workshop. First we had to cut out shapes to make a stencil. I decided to cut out a flower and decorative swirls so it would relate to my previous images I have  used within my work. For the background we simply printed  yellow then once that dry used Blue to screen print our images on top. The second screen print I found more interesting as we selected the acrylic colours and painted and dripped the colours all over the screen. On top of  the paper we sprinkled on talc which blocks out areas giving a kind of hazy patterned effect in white. The colours begin to merge and blend together which creates an unusual effect for the background. I will photocopy theses prints in order to work into them and by drawing images on top. I might try a new approach and use photoshop to merge and overlap previous work together to try new techniques.

 

